Sunday, 23 May 2004

Alaskans to Sue over CAPPS-II

Four Alaskans today announced plans for a Federal lawsuit that will "ask... the court to order the TSA [USA Transportation Security Administration] to tell us when a Security Directive is issued by the TSA so we can learn when they order the airlines to start sending passenger information to the government for CAPPS II testing."

According to the Web site for the plaintiffs at AlaskaFreedom.com the lawsuit will be filed at 9 a.m. Alaska time (10 a.m. PDT, 1 p.m. EDT, 18:00 GMT) Monday, 24 May 2004, in the the U.S. District Court for the District of Alaska, in Anchorage. Copies of the complaint will be available after the case is filed.

The plaintiffs include two travel agents and travel agency owners, and two residents of the community of Unalakleet, which is reachable from the lower 48 states or from Juneau, the capital of Alaska, only by air.

Disclosure: I've been providing pro bono consulting services to counsel for the plaintiffs in this lawsuit.

Link | Posted by Edward on Sunday, 23 May 2004, 17:16 ( 5:16 PM)
Comments
Post a comment









Save personal info as cookie?








Bio | Blog | Blogroll | Books | Contact | Disclosures | Events | FAQs & Explainers | Home | Newsletter | Privacy | Resisters.Info | Search | The Amazing Race | The Identity Project | Travel Privacy & Human Rights | Twitter

"Don't believe anything just because you read it on the Internet. Anyone can say anything on the Internet, and they do. The Internet is the most effective medium in history for the rapid global propagation of rumor, myth, and false information." (From The Practical Nomad Guide to the Online Travel Marketplace, 2001)
RSS 2.0 feed of this blog
RSS 2.0 feed of this blog
RSS 1.0 feed of this blog
Powered by
Movable Type Open Source
Movable Type Open Source 5.2.13

Pegasus Mail
Pegasus Mail by David Harris
Notices